Australia’s revamped blockchain committee named – Software

A thirteen-member steering committee of technological know-how industry experts has been named to aid make assistance for blockchain technological know-how in Australia in excess of the next 5 several years.

The Nationwide Blockchain Roadmap Steering Committee is an evolution of the advisory committee that helped put alongside one another the government’s blockchain roadmap last yr.

The strategy aims to aid Australia experience the positive aspects of blockchain technological know-how, with the development of the steering committee considered the very first ‘signpost’ amongst 2020-2025.

Whilst the committee is mostly built up of all those concerned in the development of the strategy, a range of newcomers from the general public and personal sectors have been additional to the line-up.

New users involve the Electronic Transformation Agency’s chief electronic officer Peter Alexander and the Australian Securities Exchange’s (ASX’s) deputy chief Peter Hiom.

Hiom is dependable for the ASX’s blockchain-dependent Clearing House Digital Subregister Program (CHESS) substitution, when Alexander led the DTA’s examine into blockchain in federal government.

King & Wood Mallesons’ senior associate Hannah Glass, who specialises in blockchain technological know-how, fintechs and payments, has also been additional to the committee membership.

Other users of the committee involve:

  • Adriana Belotti, the head of marketing and advertising and group of technological know-how consultancy Prismatik and co-organiser of two of the oldest crypto meetups in Australia
  • Leanne Kemp, founder and CEO of blockchain startup Everledger and Queensland chief entrepreneur
  • Mark Staples, a senior principal researcher in Data61’s software program and computational techniques program dependable for coordinating most of its blockchain investigate.
  • Katie Ford, head of federal government business and stakeholder relations at Data61 and former federal government advisor
  • Jason Potts, professor of economics at RMIT University and director of the university’s blockchain innovation hub
  • Chris Berg, senior investigate fellow at RMIT and co-director of the university’s blockchain innovation hub
  • Nicholas Giurietto, CEO and Taking care of Director of Blockchain Australia
  • Steve Vallas, founder of the Blockchain APAC, founder of Honey Electronic and Swinburne University innovation precinct accelerator program mentor.

The committee is led by Division of Sector, Science, Energy and Sources (DISER) electronic economic system and technological know-how division electronic manager Louise Talbot and DISER national blockchain roadmap lead Chloe White.

The committee will oversee the “next methods following on from the roadmap” by giving suggestions on federal government programs and other assistance, investigate and venture capital programs that are accessible to the sector.

It will also deliver suggestions to the federal government on the next two blockchain use cases to be explored.

The very first a few use cases have targeted on agricultural offer chains, university qualifications and purchaser checks in the finance sector.

DISER has not ruled out including users to the committee in the potential to undertake precise assignments.